The 2017 Vuelta a España will start on August 19 with a 13.8-kilometre team time trial in Nîmes, France. It will be only the third time in the race’s 80-year history that it has commenced outside Spain.

Subscribe to Cycling Weekly here:

When is the Vuelta a España 2017?: August 19 to September 10 2017
Where is the Vuelta a España 2017?: France/Spain

After two opening stages in France, the race then progresses to Andorra on stage three and then into Spain on stage four, finishing in Tarragona.

The first summit finish of the race then occurs the following day on stage five to Ermita Santa Lucia. That is the first of nine summit finishes in the 2017 race.

After the first rest day on Monday August 28, the race heads south for a testing second week, with more climbing, including the Sierra Nevada ski resort on a particularly brutal stage 15.

After a lengthy transfer north on the second rest day (Monday, September 4) the race serves up its only individual time trial on stage 16, covering 42km.

Then it’s straight into a climb-packed crescendo of a final week. Summit finishes at Los Machucos and Santo Toribio feature, culminating in the race’s penultimate stage to Alto de l’Angliru. The tradition flat procession into Madrid on Sunday, September 10, and the final podium ceremony bring the race to a close.

In the past couple of seasons, the start list has been dictated by a degree by the performance of the main contenders in the Tour de France. Any Grand Tour hopeful who had a disappointing Tour can made amends in the Vuelta.

The Vuelta a España is the third of three Grand Tours on the race calendar, preceded by the Giro d’Italia in May and the Tour de France in July. All last for three weeks and are part of the UCI’s top-flight WorldTour events.

Vuelta a España 2017 stages

Stage one, Saturday August 19: Nîmes (France) (TTT), 13.8km
Stage two, Sunday August 20: Nîmes (France) – Gruissan (France), 201km
Stage three, Monday August 21: Prades Conflent Canigó (France) – Andorra la Vella (Andorra), 158.5km
Stage four, Tuesday August 22: Escaldes-Engordany (Andorra) – Tarragona (Spain), 193km
Stage five, Wednesday August 23: Benicàssim – Alcossebre, 173.4km
Stage six, Thursday August 24: Villareal – Sagunt, 198km
Stage seven, Friday August 25: Lliria – Cuenca, 205.2km
Stage eight, Saturday August 26: Hellín – Xorret de Cati, 184km
Stage nine, Sunday August 27: Orihuela – Cumbre del Sol, 176.3km
Rest Day, Monday August 28
Stage 10, Tuesday August 29: Caravaca Jubilar – Elpozo Alimentación, 171km
Stage 11, Wednesday August 30: Lorca – Observatorio Astronómico de Calar Alto, 188km
Stage 12, Thursday August 31: Motril – Antequera, 161.4km
Stage 13, Friday September 1: Coín – Tomares, 197km
Stage 14, Saturday September 2: Écija – Sierra de la Pandera, 185.5km
Stage 15, Sunday September 3: Alcalá la Real – Sierra Nevada, 127km
Rest Day, Monday September 4
Stage 16, Tuesday September 5: Circuito de Navarra – Logroño (ITT), 42km
Stage 17, Wednesday September 6: Villadiego – Los Machucos, 180km
Stage 18, Thursday September 7: Suances – Santo Toribio de Liébana, 168.5km
Stage 19, Friday September 8: Parque Natural de Redes – Gijón, 153km
Stage 20, Saturday September 9: Corvera de Asturias – Alto de l’Angliru, 119.2km
Stage 21, Sunday September 10: Arroyomolinos – Madrid, 101.9km


More at:
Cycling Weekly: