The Autonomous Group of Catalonia or the Catalan area is located in the northeast of the Iberian Peninsula.

It is composed of four provinces: Barcelona, Tarragona, Lleida and Girona.

There is substantially range of scenery and terrain the provinces are fertile, watered by rivers and have prolonged coastal zones with the exception of Lleida, which is landlocked. The 3 coastline provinces of Barcelona, Tarragona and Girona, present a vast choice of inns and good beaches.